Goodreads   Amazon

I’ve never felt so bad about giving a three-star review – because this is the Ritchie sisters, and I love everything they write. This book is amazing, and I would have adored it if I hadn’t already read Kiss the Sky and Hothouse Flower. Because, as much as I love these authors, Thrive doesn’t have enough new material to warrant 400+ pages.

I went into Thrive knowing that it occurs during the same time period as Kiss the Sky and Hothouse Flower, the first two books in the Calloway Sisters spin-off series. I thought it might focus more on what was going on in Lily and Lo’s life while Lily’s sisters were dealing with their own stuff, but it’s really more like Lily and Lo’s reaction to the events of the other books. Sure, it gives a little background into why Lo was so adamantly against Ryke and Daisy’s relationship, or what Lily was thinking during the filming, but it’s still the same events from the previous books.

The writing is great and the story is good – if you haven’t already read Kiss the Sky and Hothouse Flower. Unless you’re a die-hard fan of the Ritchie sisters, you can probably skip Thrive in favor of the more exciting spin-off novels. 

Final rating: ★★★☆☆