Blog tour: The Accidental Beauty Queen by Teri Wilson

The Accidental Beauty Queen by Teri Wilson
Rating: ★★★★☆
Links: Amazon • TBD • Goodreads • Publisher
Publication Date: December 4, 2018
Source: ARC from publisher

In this charming romantic comedy perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and Sophie Kinsella, critically acclaimed author Teri Wilson shows us that sometimes being pushed out of your comfort zone leads you to the ultimate prize. 

Charlotte Gorman loves her job as an elementary school librarian, and is content to experience life through the pages of her books. Which couldn’t be more opposite from her identical twin sister. Ginny, an Instagram-famous beauty pageant contestant, has been chasing a crown since she was old enough to enunciate the words world peace, and she’s not giving up until she gets the title of Miss American Treasure. And Ginny’s refusing to do it alone this time.

She drags Charlotte to the pageant as a good luck charm, but the winning plan quickly goes awry when Ginny has a terrible, face-altering allergic reaction the night before the pageant, and Charlotte suddenly finds herself in a switcheroo the twins haven’t successfully pulled off in decades.

Woefully unprepared for the glittery world of hair extensions, false eyelashes, and push-up bras, Charlotte is mortified at every unstable step in her sky-high stilettos. But as she discovers there’s more to her fellow contestants than just wanting a sparkly crown, Charlotte realizes she has a whole new motivation for winning.

Something you might not know about me is that I absolutely love Miss Congeniality. I don’t even know how many times I’ve seen that movie, so when I got an email from Simon & Schuster asking if I’d like to participate in the blog tour for a book that’s basically Miss Congeniality but with a librarian instead of an FBI agent, I had to say yes. This book ended up being just as fun as I’d expected.

The Accidental Beauty Queen is well-written and funny with charming characters and a sweet romance that takes a backseat to the relationship between Charlotte and Ginny. I loved all of the literary references and I loved that the love interest majored in English literature. I loved Buttercup, the French bulldog. I loved that despite their differences, neither Charlotte or Ginny thought that they were better than the other and that, by the end of the book, they really came to understand each other.

This book was just so cute, so lighthearted, and such an easy read. I would highly recommend it to anybody looking for a quick romantic comedy. Many thanks to Simon and Schuster for the free advance copy!


About the author:

Teri Wilson is the author/creator of the Hallmark Channel Original Movies Unleashing Mr. Darcy, Marrying Mr. Darcy, and The Art of Us, as well as a fourth Hallmark movie currently in development. Teri is a double finalist in the prestigious 2018 RWA RITA awards for her novels The Princess Problem and Royally Wed. Teri also writes an offbeat fashion column for the royal blog What Would Kate Do and is a frequent guest contributor for its sister site, Meghan’s Mirror. She’s been a contributor for both HelloGiggles and Teen Vogue, covering books, pop culture, beauty, and everything royal. In 2017, she served as a national judge for the Miss United States pageant in Orlando, Florida, and has since judged in the Miss America system. She has a major weakness for cute animals, pretty dresses, Audrey Hepburn films, and good books. Visit her at TeriWilson.net or on Twitter @TeriWilsonAuthr.


Have you read Fear? What’s the best political non-fiction you’ve read recently?
Let’s talk in the comments!


Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “Blog tour: The Accidental Beauty Queen by Teri Wilson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s