Tag: Remember November Book Tag

It’s been a little while since I did a tag, but I couldn’t resist doing this Remember November tag! Thank you to Mandy & Sha for tagging me! ❤


Rules:

.x. pingback to the creator of the tag, @bookprincessreviews .x.
.x. tag the person who tagged you .x.
.x. find an answer to match each prompt .x.
.x. have fun! .x.


sadie hawkins day: first saturday

a female character who takes her fate in her own hands

Ileana in The Story That Cannot Be Told is not going to let anyone decide her life for her. She takes charge of what’s happening, finds her voice, and does her best to keep herself and those around her safe.

guy fawkes night: november 5

a plot that was stopped at the last minute

Pretty much every plot in Neverworld Wake?

saxophone day: november 6

a character with an uncommon hobby

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart! Beatrix loves drawing cadavers and actually sneaks into a hospital to see them.

world kindness day: november 13

a villain who is changed by kindness

I had to no idea who to choose for this prompt, so I asked my boyfriend. I can’t really argue with Scrooge from A Christmas Carol.

use less stuff day: november 18

a character who gives up something in their life (i.e. a dream, a possession)

In Sourdough, Lois has been working tirelessly toward a high-paying tech career. Then she gets some sourdough starter and her goals change!

start your own country day: november 22

a book with its own land / world

I wanted to go with something a little unusual, so I figured I’d go with The Backstagers! I love the fictional world backstage in these graphic novels.


Please consider yourself tagged if you think this sounds like fun! Which characters have you read about that have unusual hobbies? What’s your favorite fictional land? Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Theme Thursday: Artsy Characters

It’s time for another Theme Thursday! This month’s theme is artsy characters. I love that this theme is so open-ended! I had fun thinking back on the books I’ve read to remember characters who were artsy types. For the purposes of today’s post, I’m defining “artsy” as any character who’s into the arts, whether that be drawing, painting, sculpting, writing, singing, or acting. I’m pretty sure I’ve forgotten a ton of them (especially TBR books), but that’s okay!

Theme Thursday is a new monthly feature created by Sophie @ Blame Chocolate where bloggers can share recs and newly found books featuring that month’s theme.

  • There will be a different theme (genre, trope, etc) every month. You can check the theme calendar here.
  • Those participating have to list titles that feature that theme in some way (doesn’t have to be the main theme of the book).
  • You can choose one of the four (or five) Thursdays of every month to post.
  • You can use the three main categories: Books I’ve Read/I’m Reading, Books I Want to Read, and Other Books That Fit The Theme but this isn’t mandatory.
  • You can repeat books in different themes, if they apply, and choose as many as you want.
  • You don’t have to take part every month! Just when you feel like it.
  • You can use #BlameThemeThursday on Twitter and other social media to make TT posts easier to find.
  • Finally, use this boxed text (or similar) in your post, as it doubles as a pingback.

If you have any theme suggestions, please leave them in the comments or email them to me!

Books I’ve Read

Books I Want to Read


Did you do your own Theme Thursday post this month? Feel free to leave your link in the comments and I’ll check it out! Have you read any of these books? What are your favorite books with artsy characters? Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’

WWW Wednesday

It’s time for another WWW Wednesday post! WWW Wednesday is hosted over at Taking on a World of Words and just involves answering the 3 Ws!


What are you currently reading?

  • Bad Blood by John Carreyrou
    • I’m about halfway done and this is crazy! This book has been recommended to me so many times and I don’t know why I waited so long!
  • Roommates by M.E. Parker
    • I’ve had this one on my Kindle forever and it’s been a very long time since I read straight-up erotica, so here we go…
    • reading challenge: firestation (romanceopoly)

What did you recently finish reading?

It’s been a very good reading week, and I’ve actually finished six books since my last WWW Wednesday!

  • Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee by Jeff Zentner
    • I really enjoyed this! I haven’t decided yet whether it’s four or five stars, which probably means four… but we’ll see.
  • Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman
    • I also really enjoyed this! I did not expect to like it since I tried three separate times to read American Gods and failed each time, but it was really good!
  • Trinkets by Kirsten Smith
    • This, on the other hand, was not so good.
  • Jealous Revenge by Octavia Singleton
    • Five stars for entertainment, one star for literary merit. A very long review is coming, but in short, this one was a ton of fun.
  • We’ll Fly Away by Bryan Bliss
    • I DNFed this earlier this year and decided to give it another chance. It’s not really my kind of story, but I can still recognize that it was well-written.
  • Because Internet by Gretchen McCulloch
    • I LOVED THIS. I want to read every linguistics book ever now. I have missed having linguistics in my life.

What do you think you’ll read next?

  • Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren
    • I have had this ARC forever and I need to just do it! I saw the hardcover in B&N over the weekend and felt really bad.
  • To Be Taught, If Fortunate by Becky Chambers
    • I think the worst review I’ve ever seen of a Becky Chambers book has been like… four stars. It’s time to finally read one, and this one is super short.

Have you read any of these books? Are any of them on your TBR? Did you do your own WWW Wednesday post today? Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite bookmarks

Happy Top Ten Tuesday! Today’s theme is favorite bookmarks… which is honestly not my favorite topic. I’m not sure where all my bookmarks ended up in my move, so here are ten things that I like to use as bookmarks when I don’t have an actual bookmark available.


  1. the dust cover
  2. receipts
  3. appointment cards
  4. envelopes
  5. post-it notes
  6. business cards
  7. a pen or pencil
  8. junk mail
  9. scrap paper
  10. and when all else fails, I save my page number on the Goodreads app

Did you do your own Top Ten Tuesday post today? Feel free to leave your link in the comments and I’ll check it out! What do you like to use for a bookmark? Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Book Review: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
Rating: ★★★★☆
Links: Amazon • TBD • Goodreads
Publication Date: April 17, 2012
Source: Borrowed

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

It might be odd that I’ve now read not just one, but two, books by a blogger whose website I’ve never even visited. And yet here I am reviewing a second book by Jenny Lawson. In addition to never having read her blog, I also read her memoirs in the wrong order. But that’s not really a problem. Jenny’s life — or at least the way she tells it — is funny, and that’s all that matters.

The thing about Jenny Lawson’s memoirs is that they’re funny. Like, laugh out loud at your desk even when you’re trying to be discreet about the fact that you’re listening to a hilarious audiobook while you work. There are many stories in this book that I enjoyed, but the one that’s stuck in my memory the most is Jenny recounting her days working in HR. I’d like to say that the kinds of conversations she had to have surprised me… but they didn’t.

I enjoyed this book very much. I don’t know if Jenny Lawson is planning to publish any more books, but if she is, I’ll be over here waiting to read them.


Have you read Let’s Pretend This Never Happened? Do you follow Jenny’s blog?
Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’