Book review: Man Candy by Melanie Harlow

Goodreads ⭐ Amazon ⭐

Ten years ago, Jaime made a bold move when she cornered Quinn in a bathroom and confessed her love.  Quinn knew he could never hook up with his friend’s little sister, so he brushed her off.  Now, having retired from the glamorous world of modeling and looking to settle down, Quinn has temporarily moved into the other half of Jaime’s duplex.  He’s pretty sure that he wants to settle down with Jaime, but she’s completely opposed to love.  Can he convince her to give love a chance?

I snapped up Man Candy one day when it was free on Amazon, but it got lost in the shuffle of ARCs and other freebies and all the other stuff I have to do on a daily basis.  I found it on my Kindle the other day and decided to dive in, and am I ever glad that I did.

I love Melanie Harlow.  This is at least the third book I’ve read by her – maybe the fourth – and they’re always great.  She knows just how to write a swoon-worthy love interest with some scorching sexy scenes.  She’s not afraid to go there and have her characters indulge in some highly NSFW activities that fall outside of the standard romance novel fare.  (I definitely won’t be reading her books on my lunch break.)

But in addition to some scenes that nearly set off my smoke alarm, we have the biggest sweetheart of all time, Quinn Rusek.  Where can I find this man?  I mean, his whole “I’ll make you believe in love” thing was just so cute and so sweet and so heartwarming.  I’m going to cry just thinking about it.  He was so kind and patient and understanding and I just wish he was a real person.

Jaime, honestly, I could take or leave.  Yes, she was cute and quirky, but she drove me crazy!  I would have liked her to act a little bit more like an adult and be a little less frustrating, but I understand that some drama was necessary to keep things interesting.

Overall, Man Candy is high on the fluff scale and low on the angst scale.  Its tropes include second chance romance and brother’s best friend. All of that together means that I really enjoyed it and would love to dive right back in for more Quinn – but I might settle for whatever other Melanie Harlow books I currently have on my TBR.

Final rating: ★★★★☆

One thought on “Book review: Man Candy by Melanie Harlow

Leave a comment