Goodreads Amazon

When we last saw Lily and Lo in Ricochet, Lo was back from rehab and 90 days sober, with a brand new outlook on life. Lily was regularly going to therapy and proudly 90 days celibate. In Addicted for Now, Lily and Lo must come to terms with living in the real world. Lo has access to alcohol again. Lily has to deal with sleeping next to her boyfriend without giving in to her compulsions. Staying sober was easier without access to alcohol. Staying celibate was easier without sharing a room. But both Lily and Lo are determined to make it work.

Of the three Addicted novels I’ve read so far, Addicted for Now is by far my favorite. I think that’s because instead of being about their addictions tearing them apart, this book focuses much more on their recovery, on finding healthy ways to deal with their triggers and focus their energy on more positive things. It also builds the relationships a lot more, particularly the relationship between Lily and her sisters.

Of course, no book is complete without some serious drama, so Lily has to deal with someone threatening to out her secret – to release to the press that the heiress to Fizzle is not just a sex addict, but one who’s gone so far as to hire male prostitutes. Knowing that the news would cause Fizzle stock to plummet, not to mention make their already strained relationship with her parents worse, Lily withdraws more and more into herself, becoming afraid to even step out of the house. The news hits Lo hard as well, since he knows that Lily has made significant progress, but still isn’t ready to reveal her secret. Lily worries that the stress will drive Lo to the nearest bar. And when the leak is revealed… I was both shocked and not at all surprised.

I need to catch up on my recent Netgalley approvals, but then I’ll be diving headfirst into Rose and Connor’s story. I can’t wait.

Final rating: ★★★★☆

For my 2015 reading challenge, I’m crossing off #43: a book that takes place in your hometown. (I would like to mention that Princeton, NJ is not my hometown, but I could not find any books that take place in the tiny Wisconsin town I was born and raised in.  Princeton is, however, where I live now, so I figured it’s close enough.)

2 thoughts on “

Leave a comment