I have dreamed about books a few times over the years, but the one that stands out most was last year, when I read Peter F. Hamilton’s The Abyss Beyond Dreams.  This book featured these terrifying creatures (Fallers) that could take on the shape of the last living being that touched them.

So, imagine, this weird egg-looking thing falls in your neighbor’s backyard.  Neighbor goes out and pokes at it, wondering what it is. All of a sudden, your neighbor is absorbed into this thing, and a neighbor-looking creature is walking around with the intent to kill you and everyone you know!

I had such a vivid, terrifying dream about Fallers after I finished that book.  It still gives me chills to think about it!  In my dream, some of the patients at the medical office I work at were taken over by Fallers, and they followed me home and tried to kill me in my own kitchen.  Yikes.

Still, The Abyss Beyond Dreams is one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read.  Clearly, it made an impression.

Has anything like this ever happened to you?

Leave a comment