Book review: Lovers Like Us by Krista & Becca Ritchie

Goodreads ⭐ Amazon ⭐

When we last saw Maximoff Hale, he was reeling from an untrue rumor that just wouldn’t die.  Surprisingly, Moffy’s entire extended family believed the rumor, which led to the revelation that Moffy was in a committed relationship with Farrow, his new bodyguard.

Now, as Lovers Like Us begins, the Hale family is scrambling to rebuild their public image.  No amount of denial has killed the salacious rumors, so Moffy and his cousins come up with a foolproof plan: an extended fan tour filled with meet and greets, photo ops, and Q&A sessions.

As Moffy embarks on the tour with Jane, Charlie, Beckett, and Sulli, Farrow is alerted to the presence of an unknown stalker who seems to want Moffy dead.  Can Farrow put his feelings for Moffy aside to keep him safe?

It’s no secret that I love Krista & Becca Ritchie.  Not only are they talented authors, but they’re so down-to-earth and nice.  I always love reading their books and LLU was no exception.  The anticipation for these books almost kills me – I preorder as soon as the link is available and then read as fast as I can.  Of course, then I’m kicking myself because I’ll have to wait months and months for the next Ritchie book, but I digress.

Anyway, I really enjoyed LLU.  I’m going to try to keep this review as spoiler-free as possible, so I apologize in advance that I’m not really able to discuss this in as much detail as I’d like.  I just think that it’s better for you to experience this book without knowing what to expect.

Things I liked:

  • Seeing Moffy and Farrow come to grips with the new reality of their relationship and learn to trust each other more and more.
  • My precious, pure, foul-mouthed Sulli. 💕
  • The love and acceptance and trust among the cousins.  I have at least thirty cousins, but I’ve never had this kind of relationship with any of them.  This book made me want to move closer to home.
  • Seeing the aspects of fame that I’d never really thought about, like fans dumping their whole life story and all of their problems on a celebrity at a meet and greet. I’m sure it happens in real life and how would you even deal with that?

Things I didn’t love:

  • We’re not supposed to like Dr. Keene, but his whole subplot actually made me very mad.  I thought he was terribly unprofessional and he unnecessarily endangered the health of his patient for petty reasons.

What I’m hoping for in Alphas Like Us:

  • I hope that Charlie finds himself and finds a way to be happy.  My heart just breaks for him.
  • Jane and Thatcher.  Honestly, I didn’t see the appeal in Damaged Like Us.  Now I need more THANE asap, please.  That conversation.  RIP me.
  • A speedy release? I’m not sure if I can wait months and months for the next installment!

Krista & Becca Ritchie can do no wrong in my eyes.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I will read (and most likely love) anything that they write.

Final rating: ★★★★★

3 thoughts on “Book review: Lovers Like Us by Krista & Becca Ritchie

Leave a comment