ARC review: It Takes Two by Jenny Holiday

It Takes Two by Jenny Holiday
Series: Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #2
Rating: ★★★★☆
Links: AmazonTBDGoodreads
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Source: ARC via Netgalley

All’s fair in love and war

Wendy Liu should be delighted to be her best friend’s maid of honor. But after years spent avoiding the bride’s brother – aka the boy who once broke her heart – she’s now trapped with him during an endless amount of wedding festivities. Luckily she’s had time to perfect her poker face, and engaging Noah Denning in a little friendly competition might just prove that she’s over him for good…

Noah Denning is determined to make his little sister’s wedding memorable. But it seems Wendy is trying to outdo him at every turn. Challenging each other was always something he and Wendy did right, so when she proposes they compete to see who can throw the best bachelor or bachelorette party in Sin City, Noah takes the bait – and ups the stakes. Because this time around, he wants Wendy for keeps. And when you’re fighting for love, all bets are off.

I really like Jenny Holiday’s writing style. First in Famous and now in It Takes Two, she writes such believable characters with realistic emotions and palpable chemistry. I think it’s safe to say that I’m a fan.

To start things off, can I just say that I loved Wendy’s friend group? Wendy, Jane, Elise, and Gia so obviously cared about each other and wanted what was best for each other. It was so nice to see such strong female friendships in a romance novel!

Now for the main characters. I loved Noah. He was swoony, charming, and sweet. He had a big heart and just wanted to do what was best for everyone. Wendy was… a little bit frustrating, but otherwise fine. I liked that she was independent and focused on her career, but I got a little disappointed when she continually fixated on her high school prom that even she admits was almost two decades ago. I understand that it was a big turning point in her life, but come on, you’re in your 30s now, calm down maybe.

This book might be second in the series, but it works just fine as a standalone. I don’t really feel any need to read the rest of the series, but I bet it’s just as good. Despite the fact that it took me almost a week to read this book (honestly, about four days longer than it should have), I did really enjoy It Takes Two.