Book Review: MCMLXXV by Joe Casey

MCMLXXV by Joe Casey
Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Links: Amazon • TBD • Goodreads
Publication Date: May 15, 2019
Source: Borrowed

Meet Pamela Evans. Much more than a typical Manhattan cab driver, she also happens to be a badass monster fighter who wields an enchanted tire iron. Yeah, that’s right. Welcome to the year of her greatest adventure.

MCMLXXV is modern mythology for a new generation, from JOE CASEY (NEW LIEUTENANTS OF METAL, JESUSFREAK) and IAN MacEWAN (PROPHET: EARTH WAR, SEX).

Collects MCMLXXV #1-3

This is going to be a pretty short review because I did not enjoy this one very much. Pretty much the only reason I read this was because of the title, which doesn’t even figure into the story at all.

Let me start with the positive. It starts off well enough. I’d probably give it four stars for the first issue. I appreciate that it features a strong female lead. I appreciate the premise of the story. The art is fine. Unfortunately, that’s about all I can say.

Some bullet points, because I don’t really want to devote too much more time to this graphic novel:

  • If you like random words being emphasized for no reason, you might enjoy this graphic novel.
  • Aside from a taxi driver fighting demons, there’s not too terribly much of a plot, and the world-building is basically non-existent.
  • I cared about literally none of the characters. I didn’t dislike them or anything, but I just didn’t feel anything for them. Even when some pretty major characters died, I was just like, “oh… alright then.”
  • Please explain to me how Pamela destroys her cabs on a nightly basis and still has a job??

I’m not mad that I took the time to read this, but I can’t really recommend it either.

#mm19: animal, number, color, name


Have you read MCMLXXV? Is it on your TBR?
Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’