Tag: 3 Days, 3 Quotes (Take 3) | Day 3

this or that

I was recently tagged by Lori for the 3 Days, 3 Quotes challenge! This is my third time doing the tag, but I really enjoy sharing my favorite quotes! Thanks for tagging me, Lori! ❤

You can see the first version of it here: Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3
And the second version here: Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3


RULES:

  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote for each day)
  • Nominate three new bloggers each day.

“People say depression lies. Anxiety is just stupid. It’s unable to tell the difference between things that are actually scary (being buried alive, for example) and things that are not scary at all (being in bed under the covers). It hits all the same buttons. Stop. Go. Up. Down. It’s all the same to anxiety.”

Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson


I’m taking a little break from tagging people, but if you want to share some of your favorite quotes, please consider yourself tagged and link back to me so that I can see your answers! ❤

Book review: 172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad

172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad
Rating: ★★★★★
Links: AmazonTBDGoodreads
Publication Date: September 15, 2008
Source: Borrowed
It’s been decades since anyone set foot on the moon. Now three ordinary teenagers, the winners of NASA’s unprecedented, worldwide lottery, are about to become the first young people in space–and change their lives forever. It’s the opportunity of a lifetime, but little do the teenagers know that something sinister is waiting for them on the desolate surface of the moon. And in the black vacuum of space… no one is coming to save them.
In this chilling adventure set in the most brutal landscape known to man, highly acclaimed Norwegian novelist Johan Harstad creates a vivid and frightening world of possibilities we can only hope never come true.

So, a thing that not very many people know about me is that I have no tolerance for anything spooky or scary. I don’t watch horror movies. I don’t read creepy books. I had no idea what to read for September’s Monthly Motif.

You may recall that Daniel is the best and that he’s always providing me with excellent recommendations, so when he recommended this book, I immediately put it on hold at my library. Luckily, it didn’t take long for the hold to come in. I did, however, have to finish up some ARCs before I could start reading it… and coincidentally, that time came when I was home alone for five days straight. Perfect time for someone with no spooky tolerance to read something spooky. 🤦‍♀️

Well, I read this book in two sittings. I did sometimes have to put it down for a second to pet my cat or text my best friend because I was just getting too spooked, but wow, this book was so good. Teenagers being randomly selected to go to the moon is possibly the most unrealistic thing I have ever read in my life, but I could not put it down and it was so good. The creepiness builds, first with little things, and then all of a sudden it’s so creepy and I’m so spooked that I might have a heart attack right here on my couch. As I said, I have no spooky tolerance. My heart is still pounding.

I can’t not recommend this book.

#mm18: don’t turn out the light


Have you read 172 Hours on the Moon? What’s the last book that freaked you out?
Let’s talk in the comments!


Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’