Tag: Book Blogger Confessions

A couple weeks ago, Raya tagged me to do this book blogger confessions tag. It took me a little while, but I’m finally doing it! Thanks for the tag! ❤


Rules:

  1. Answer these questions truthfully.
  2. Once you’re done, tag 5 other book bloggers to answer these questions next.

Which book, most recently, did you not finish?

I think my last DNF was The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager. I’m a little sad about it since I was really excited about that book.

Which book is your guilty pleasure?

I don’t really believe in guilty pleasures! If a book makes me happy or I enjoy it, then I’m good. No guilt over it required.

Which book do you love to hate?

Troll, definitely. I hate read this one and I still love to talk about how bad it was.

Which book would you throw into the sea?

I have to go with Raya’s answer here — I could never. Which book would I figuratively throw into the sea? Again, probably Troll.

Which book have you read the most?

Probably Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret. I’ve read this book countless times since childhood.

Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

I guess anything by an author I don’t like? I don’t know, I’ve gotten all sorts of books as presents. I just like getting books.

Which book could you not live without?

I don’t know that there’s any single book that I would literally die without… but I’m happy that I live in a world where The Hating Game exists.

Which book made you the angriest?

Probably All the Bright Places. I have a very long review if you want to know all the reasons why.

Which book made you cry the most?

Me Before You. I was a mess when I finished that book.

Which book cover do you hate the most?

I hate most of the covers for Krista & Becca Ritchie’s books. And most of their books are so good! I never would have picked them up if not for the glowing reviews I’d seen.


I’m going to be a rebel and not tag anyone in particular, but if you feel like answering these questions, please do! And please link back to me so that I can see your post! ❤

Book review: My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Rating: ★★★☆☆
Links: Amazon • GoodreadsTBD
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Source: Borrowed

You may think you know the story. After a miserable childhood, penniless orphan Jane Eyre embarks on a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall. There, she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester. Despite their significant age gap (!) and his uneven temper (!!), they fall in love—and, Reader, she marries him. (!!!)

Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Brontë, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

First things first, I feel like I should say two things:

  1. I absolutely adored My Lady Jane, and
  2. I have not read Jane Eyre.

I don’t think that not reading Jane Eyre really had any impact on my feelings about this book. The authors really did a great job of retelling the story in a way that doesn’t rely on any prior knowledge of the book. But adoring My Lady Jane? I think that made my hopes a little too high.

You see, MLJ was a nearly 500-page book that I finished in (if I remember correctly) two nights. I flew through it, laughing and smiling and swooning over a man who randomly turns into a horse. MPJ took me about two weeks to finish despite being a little shorter.

I think the biggest thing for me was that, despite more or less enjoying the plot, I just didn’t feel any connection with the characters. Sure, Jane and Charlotte and Alexander were all great, but I always felt like they were at a distance. I never really felt immersed in their story, which meant that I never really felt like picking it back up and reading more.

I don’t have a ton of things to say about this book. It was a pretty solid four for me until the last quarter or so, when it seemed to drag a bit and I had to force myself to keep reading.

#killingthetbr: 6 months on shelf
#ps19: a retelling of a classic
#romanceopoly: memory lane


Have you read My Plain Jane? Have you read any good retellings recently? Let’s talk in the comments!


Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’