Tag: Netgalley Book Tag!

Thank you to Bibi for tagging me in this one! I love Netgalley and I’ve seen this one floating around but haven’t done it yet. Thanks for the push to do it. 🙂


★ RULES

  • Link back to the tag’s creator: Kourtni at Kourtni Reads
  • Thank and link back to the person who tagged you.
  • Answer the questions the best you can. If you don’t use NetGalley, you can substitute other sites or places where you get books!
  • Tag a few people to do this too!

★ AUTO-APPROVED: WHO’S ONE AUTHOR WHOSE BOOKS YOU AUTOMATICALLY WANT TO READ, REGARDLESS OF WHAT THEY ARE ABOUT?

I wish somebody would auto-approve me!! But here are six authors that I always want more from.

  • Krista & Becca Ritchie
  • R.S. Grey
  • Rainbow Rowell
  • Jenn Bennett
  • Becky Albertalli
  • V.E. Schwab

★ REQUEST: WHAT MAKES YOU WANT TO REQUEST A BOOK ON NETGALLEY?

I used to request just about everything that looked remotely interesting, but that’s gotten to be a problem over the years. Now I only request books that I’d actually buy for myself.

★ FEEDBACK RATIO: DO YOU REVIEW EVERY BOOK YOU READ? IF NOT, HOW DO YOU DECIDE WHAT BOOKS TO REVIEW?

I do! I have a couple books I still have to read and review, but I make a point to review every book that I read.

★ BADGES: IF YOU COULD CREATE ONE BADGE TO DISPLAY ON YOUR BLOG, WHAT WOULD IT BE FOR?

I’m going to steal from Bibi, who stole from Amy: “I’d like a badge to show my most reviewed genre so publishers can see what genres I like to read the most.”

★ WISH FOR IT: WHAT’S ONE BOOK THAT YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY DYING TO READ?

Just one? No. Here are many.

★ 2018 NETGALLEY CHALLENGE: WHAT WAS THE LAST BOOK THAT YOU RECEIVED AS AN ARC THAT YOU REVIEWED? IF YOU’VE NEVER RECEIVED AN ARC, WHAT’S THE LAST BOOK YOU REVIEWED?

The last ARC that I reviewed was Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram.


I’m tagging: Hamad ★ Daniel ★ Catherine ★ Leslie ★ Brittany

As always, no pressure. Feel free to ignore me or feel free to tag yourself. ❤

Mini-reviews: The Princess Saves Herself In This One & The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace
Series: Women Are Some Kind of Magic #1
Rating: ★★★★☆
Links: AmazonTBDGoodreads
Publication Date: August 23, 2016
Source: Borrowed

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

I liked this collection so much more than I expected to! One of the criticisms I had of the last collection of poetry I read (which was written in a similar style) was that it didn’t stab me in the heart. It didn’t really make me feel anything. This collection definitely stabbed me in the heart, but it also made me really happy.

You shine brighter than all the starlight there has ever been or ever will be.


The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace
Series: Women Are Some Kind of Magic #2
Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Links: AmazonTBDGoodreads
Publication Date: March 6, 2018
Source: Borrowed

2016 Goodreads Choice Award-winning poet Amanda Lovelace returns in the witch doesn’t burn in this one — the bold second book in her “women are some kind of magic” series.

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.

Unpopular opinion: I did not like this collection at all. The Princess felt real and natural and honest, but The Witch was just exhausting. There’s so much anger, so much hate, so many generalizations that I was just sad and tired when I finished it. I 100% consider myself a feminist and I don’t think that this collection represents my values at all.

Wanting to burn men instead of women at the stake isn’t feminism, and it just fuels the anti-feminist fires that are, quite honestly, already strong enough.


Have you read either of these books? Are you planning to?
Let’s talk in the comments!


Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’