Book review: We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
Rating: ★★★★☆
Links: AmazonTBDGoodreads
Publication Date: 1962
Source: Borrowed
Merricat Blackwood lives on the family estate with her sister Constance and her Uncle Julian. Not long ago there were seven Blackwoods—until a fatal dose of arsenic found its way into the sugar bowl one terrible night. Acquitted of the murders, Constance has returned home, where Merricat protects her from the curiosity and hostility of the villagers. Their days pass in happy isolation until cousin Charles appears. Only Merricat can see the danger, and she must act swiftly to keep Constance from his grasp.

I was in the library picking up my copy of Godsgrave when I saw a whole entire pile of We Have Always Lived in the Castles by the door. It was a little odd, but I wasn’t going to say anything. I ended up checking out a copy along with Godsgrave and then reading it (mostly) on a plane. And what can I say, I usually end up really liking books that I read on planes.

This was my first book by Shirley Jackson, and as soon as I finished, I dragged my best friend to a bookstore with me where I almost bought The Haunting of Hill House before I realized that I literally did not have any room left in my suitcase. It’s okay, though, because I bought it once I got back to New Jersey.

I’m not really sure what I can say about this book other than it’s creepy and I liked it. I don’t really ever read books like this, but I think I might start now?

#mm18: vacation reads


Have you read We Have Always Lived in the Castle? Is it on your TBR?
Let’s talk in the comments!


Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’