Tag: Song Request Book Tag (Take 2)

I was really excited to see that I’d been tagged by Brittany to do the song request book tag! You can see the first time I did it here and I’m just really looking forward to doing it again. This is such a fun tag and I love listening to new songs. ❤


RULES:

  • Thank and link back to tagger.
  • Credit to Daniel @ Page to Page
  • Listen to tagger’s song requests! After you’re done listening to the three songs the person who tagged you has chosen, choose a book that you think best goes along with that song and tell us why you chose it!
  • Request 3 songs of your own! Give any three songs (and your corresponding book choices that think go well with said song) you want for your taggers to listen and respond to!
  • Tag 5 people!

Brittany’s requests

1. “Rearrange” by Ella Vos

So I rearrange, I try to change for you
But you stay the same, no matter what I do

At the beginning of the book, Cynthia is stuck in a soul-sucking marriage to a man who constantly asks her to put aside her needs and desires to be the kind of woman he wants. He never compromises for her, though.

2. “Boys With Girlfriends” by Meiko

Cause I know better not to be friends with boys with girlfriends
Oh I know better than that, I know better
You play the victim and I’ll be the bad guy
I know better than that, I know better

I’m maybe being a little sassy with this one, but I immediately thought of Megan and the fact that she hooks up with guys with girlfriends.

3. “play the part” by ROLE MODEL

Are you nice because you’re nice
Or are you nice because you need something
Tell me if you need someone who can play the part

I got major You vibes while I was listening to this song! Is anyone in this book not playing a part, really? Both Joe and Beck are pretty screwed up characters, and in addition to the part of the song I quoted above, “I’m not like the other boys / I won’t yell to raise my voice” really reminded me of Joe.


My requests

1. “Out on the Town” by fun.

I set all my regrets on fire
Cause I know I’ll never take the time
To unpack my missteps and call all of our friends
I figure they would take your side

Okay, so hear me out. “Out on the Town” is about a guy trying to convince his ex to take him back after he screwed everything up. That is definitely not what TEOOO is about. But TEOOO is about a girl who kind of screws everything up with one of her friends and has to make things right. Also, the line “now I’m causing a scene / thinking you need a reason to smile” really reminds me of Izzy.

2. “Sucker Punch” by Sigrid

Meet me in the hallway
For a cup of coffee by the stairs
We’re both in a hurry
Let’s steal a minute when there’s no one there
Both our hoodies red, you’re in my head
Yeah, there’s no pressure
At least that’s what we always said
I was keeping it together
I guess I didn’t understand
That I fell for you, I lost my cool

Okay, so this song could remind me of any friends-to-lovers-type situation, but I get some definite Not So Nice Guy vibes from this one.

3. “Couldn’t Believe” by Broods

And I couldn’t believe my eyes
I couldn’t believe my ears
I couldn’t believe my luck
I can’t believe you’re here

And I couldn’t believe my eyes
I couldn’t believe my ears
But I’m looking at you now
And I can’t believe we’re here

This is the cutest song and it needs to be paired with the cutest book, so I decided to go with What If It’s Us! This song fits it so perfectly because Arthur and Ben never really think they’ll see each other again, and then they do, and it’s just so cute. ❤


I’m tagging…

AuroraJenMelSinayelMandyMandy & Sha


No pressure if you don’t want to do the tag (or if you’ve already done it), and please feel free to do it even if I didn’t tag you! What do you think of my song and book choices? Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’

Book review: You by Caroline Kepnes

You by Caroline Kepnes
Rating: ★★★★★
Links: Amazon • TBD • Goodreads
Publication Date: April 24, 2017
Source: Borrowed

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

A terrifying exploration of how vulnerable we all are to stalking and manipulation, debut author Caroline Kepnes delivers a razor-sharp novel for our hyper-connected digital age. You is a compulsively readable page-turner that’s being compared to Gone GirlAmerican Psycho, and Stephen King’s Misery.

I feel like I’ve been in a slump forever. I’ve read a book here and there that I’ve enjoyed, but overall, nothing has given me that feeling that I’m used to, where I’m just counting down the minutes until I can pick up a book again. Nothing until You, that is.

Let’s start with why I read this book. I’m not really a thriller kind of person. I mean, sure, I’ve read a few of them. I’ve enjoyed a few of them. But thrillers are usually something I read when they’re recommended by someone else, not something I seek out on my own. This one was recommended by Daniel, who hasn’t steered me wrong yet.

I could tell, from the very first page, that I was going to like this book. From the first line, it has this really creepy vibe that somehow makes it impossible to put down. Joe is so intense, so creepy, so completely convinced that Beck is in love with him and just unwilling to show it. He stalks her, breaks into her house, and steals from her. He should be the least likable protagonist in recent memory, but he’s not. Joe is, somehow, a sympathetic character. Even as he’s doing horrible things, you can’t help but feel at least a little bit bad for him.

I’m so afraid of accidentally spoiling anything in this book, so I’m going to be brief and vague. This book was incredible. I don’t think I’ve ever before felt such a mix of emotions while reading — it’s not often that I find myself quoting Lena Dunham, but I 100% agree with what she said about this book: “I am RIVETED, AGHAST, AROUSED, you name it.” It was a wild ride and I enjoyed every minute of it, even when it made me want to triple check that all my doors and windows were locked.

I’m trying to decide if I want to watch the Netflix show or not. In some ways, I think it would be fun to compare the two, but in other ways… reading the printed words was enough. I’m not sure I want to see everything in this book acted out.

#romanceopoly: murder mill
#mmd19: a book recommended by someone with great taste


Have you read You? Have you watched the show?
Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’