Book review: Dating Disasters of Emma Nash by Chloe Seager

Dating Disasters of Emma Nash by Chloe Seager
Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Links: Amazon • TBD • Goodreads
Publication Date: May 1, 2018
Source: Borrowed

Online, you can choose who you want to be. If only real life were so easy…

Emma Nash may be down, but after months of wallowing, stalking her ex online and avoiding showering—because, really, who’s going to care?—Emma’s ready to own her newly single status, get out with her friends and chronicle her dating adventures on her private blog.

But life online doesn’t always run smoothly. Stumbling upon her mother’s Tinder dating profile, getting catfished and accidentally telling the entire world why her ex-boyfriend Leon’s not worth any girl’s…um…time… Okay, those were disasters.

But surely nothing else can go wrong?

Before I left for a ten-hour road trip, I impulsively chose six different audiobooks for the ride. I only ended up listening to two of them on the actual trip, but I made an effort to get through the rest after I got home. I want to preface my review by saying that I do not recommend the audiobook for this one. It’s written as a series of blog posts and I am like 99% sure that it makes more sense as a physical book.

First of all, the book is hilarious. It reminds me a lot of the British YA novels I loved in middle school, like Louise Rennison’s Georgia Nicolson series and Cathy Hopkins’ Mates, Dates series. I probably would have liked this book a lot more as a younger teen than I did at my current age.

It’s not necessarily a bad book, but it’s basically just about the various dating disasters in Emma’s life (including her mother’s) and I like my books to have a little more substance than that these days. The pacing also felt really uneven and Emma was an incredibly annoying character.

A thing that also bothered me personally were the constant references to vomit throughout the entire book. That’s the one bodily fluid that I just cannot handle and it was constant. What was the point? Did it actually add anything to the plot? No, it was just gross.

I will give the book some bonus points for being one of the only YA books I’ve ever read to specifically reference female masturbation. It also has a nice message at the end about learning to be comfortable with yourself before trying to be with someone else and not replacing one boy with another just to avoid being single, but getting there is a hassle that I’m not entirely convinced was worth it.

#mm18: new or old


Have you read Dating Disasters of Emma Nash? Is it on your TBR?
Let’s talk in the comments!


Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’