Tag: The Liebster Award (Take 6)

I just wanted to send a big thank you to Ally for nominating me for The Liebster Award! If you’re not already following her blog, you’re really missing out. ❤

If you want to see the previous versions of this award, you can click here: 1 • 2 • 3 • 4 • 5


The Liebster Award Rules

  1. Acknowledge the blog that gave it to you and display the award
  2. Answer 11 questions that the blogger gives you
  3. Give 11 random facts about yourself
  4. Nominate 11 blogs and notify them of their nomination
  5. Give these blogs 11 questions to answer

11 random facts about me:

  1. I’m currently wearing cactus socks.
  2. I love kombucha and right now I’m drinking a Superberry from Brew Dr.
  3. I’m listening to Mother & Father by Broods as I type this.
  4. Sometimes I just look at my cat and make an actual 😍 face.
  5. I’ve had six cats in my life. I really like cats.
  6. I’m in the process of moving right now and I’ll be living alone for the first time in about seven years. I’m pretty excited.
  7. I think I read more graphic novels than actual books these days.
  8. I have a permanent bracelet on my left wrist.
  9. I don’t really think I’m that interesting of a person, but my life is often the topic of discussion at our weekly staff meetings at work.
  10. I use a different app to talk to everyone in my life. (Example: Snapchat for my boyfriend, regular texts for my best friend, Facebook Messenger for my mom, WhatsApp for my work bestie) I don’t do this on purpose, but it means I always know who’s trying to talk to me.
  11. I absolutely love coffee but I’m trying to cut down on how much I drink.

11 questions from Ally:

If you could acquire any ability, what would it be?

Well, my boyfriend lives 950 miles away and my mom and my best friend live 1,000 miles away. I’d like to acquire the ability to teleport.

What’s your perfect breakfast?

Oh my god, I love breakfast. My favorite breakfast is currently a ham and cheese crepe and cup of coffee from a restaurant downtown. My all-time favorite breakfast is stuffed french toast from a restaurant I lived by in college, but I moved and it closed and it’s my dream to recreate it someday.

What’s your phone background?

A picture of my boyfriend being cute. ❤

Who was your first favourite author?

I think I’d have to go with Tamora Pierce!

If you could use any spell from Harry Potter, which would it be and why?

Accio would be pretty useful for when I want something but don’t want to move.

If you could only name your children (or pets if you don’t want children) after the characters in a book series, which series and names would you choose?

I’d probably go with V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic series. I just really like the name Holland.

What’s something you’ve recently been obsessed with? Gush about it.

Lush! My obsession with Lush comes in waves, and it’s definitely in full force right now. I’ve been using their bath bombs for a few years now but recently I’ve gotten into their other products. I absolutely love their Bohemian bar soap (it smells like fresh lemons!) and their All Good Things solid perfume. I think I’m going to buy their Magic Crystals shower scrub and a massage bar the next time I’m there. I love Lush so much.

If you could require everyone to read one book, which book would it be?

I think I said Between the World and Me the last time I answered this question. I’ll go with something different this time — On Tyranny by Timothy Snyder.

Hot or iced coffee?

I’m usually good with just a cup of hot coffee with half and half. But in the summer, I really like an iced latte from time to time.

What was your favourite subject in school?

Very predictably, my favorite subject was English. I took double English classes my senior year of high school just because I could and I took a lit class as an elective almost every semester in college. For a less predictable answer, I also really loved band.

If you could tell your 15-year-old self one thing, what would it be?

Probably to calm down. Honestly. I was very worried about a lot of things that I didn’t need to be worried about and I’d probably just tell myself to calm down and have fun.


Since this is my sixth time doing this award and I’m not feeling particularly creative, I won’t be nominating anyone or coming up with a list of new questions. That said, please feel free to consider yourself nominated and answer Ally’s questions! What superpower would you choose? How do you take your coffee? Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’

ARC review: You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn

You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn
Rating: ★★★★☆
Links: Amazon • TBD • Goodreads
Publication Date: April 2, 2019
Source: ARC via Netgalley

Annie Mathers is America’s sweetheart and heir to a country music legacy full of all the things her Gran warned her about. Superstar Clay Coolidge is most definitely going to end up one of those things.

But unfortunately for Clay, if he can’t convince Annie to join his summer tour, his music label is going to drop him. That’s what happens when your bad boy image turns into bad boy reality. Annie has been avoiding the spotlight after her parents’ tragic death, except on her skyrocketing YouTube channel. Clay’s label wants to land Annie, and Clay has to make it happen.

Swayed by Clay’s undeniable charm and good looks, Annie and her band agree to join the tour. From the start fans want them to be more than just tour mates, and Annie and Clay can’t help but wonder if the fans are right. But if there’s one part of fame Annie wants nothing to do with, it’s a high-profile relationship. She had a front row seat to her parents’ volatile marriage and isn’t interested in repeating history. If only she could convince her heart that Clay, with his painful past and head over heels inducing tenor, isn’t worth the risk.

Most of what I’ve been in the mood for recently has been fluffy YA romances, so I jumped at the opportunity when I saw that You’d Be Mine was available to Read Now on Netgalley.  This book ended up being everything I had hoped it would be, plus a little more.

Let me start off by saying that I’m not typically a fan of books (particularly YA books) that deal with heavy topics and You’d Be Mine tackles alcoholism, drug use, depression, grief, and the death of a parent. With that many issues in one YA book, it would be pretty common for me to get overwhelmed and think it’s too much. I’m really happy to say that the author handled these topics well and I was not overwhelmed, nor did I think it was too much.

Now that I have that part out of the way, I can talk about my favorite topic: the romance. The relationship between Annie and Clay is so cute. I loved it so much. I thought that the progression of their relationship was written really well and I loved seeing them not only realize their feelings, but also become willing to act on them. And let me tell you, even if I’d hated the rest of the book (and I didn’t, at all, I loved it), the whole book would have been worth it because of the last line. I almost cried legitimate tears.

Erin Hahn is such a talented writer and I can’t wait to read more from her.


my-beautiful-in-art-form

Have you read You’d Be Mine?
What’s the last book you read that just made you happy?
Let’s talk in the comments!


Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’