Book review: Paper Girls, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan

Paper Girls, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan
Rating: ★★★★☆
Links: Amazon • TBD • Goodreads
Publication Date: November 30, 2016
Source: Borrowed

Brian K. Vaughan, #1 New York Times bestselling writer of SAGA, and Cliff Chiang, legendary artist of WONDER WOMAN, return with acclaimed colorist Matt Wilson and innovative letterer Jared K. Fletcher for the second volume of PAPER GIRLS, as the hit series continues with a bold new direction.

After surviving the strangest night of their lives in the Cleveland suburb of Stony Stream, intrepid young newspaper deliverers Erin, Mac, and Tiffany find themselves launched from 1988 to a distant and terrifying future… the year 2016.

What would you do if you were suddenly confronted by your 12-year-old self? 40-year-old newspaper reporter Erin Tieng is about to find out in this action-packed story about identity, mortality, and growing older in the 21st century.

Before I get into reviewing volume 2 of Paper Girls, here’s a little summary of how I felt about volume 1: It started off slowly, but picked up toward the end and left me feeling very intrigued about what would happen next. Now that I’ve said that, I want to say that volume 2 definitely kept me interested. There was enough going on that I kept flipping pages to see what would happen next, but not too much to the point where it would be difficult to follow.

One thing that I can say I really loved is the way that the characters from the future speak! I studied linguistics in college and the way language changes over the years has always fascinated me, so that part of this graphic novel made me so happy! It seems like Vaughan really did his research to make it seem natural.

I’ve really started to like these characters and I’m so interested to see what’s going to happen next!


#mmd19: three books by the same author


Have you read Paper Girls? What’s your favorite graphic novel?
Let’s talk in the comments!

Find me all over the internet: Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’